top of page

Your Heart is a Muscle the Size of a Fist by Sunil Yapa


I had heard through the grape vine that this was a good book. And so, I picked it up on that assumption. I was not disappointed. This is an absolutely riveting book. It tells the story of a town in the midst of a political protest. Seattle, to be exact. In 1999. During the WTO negotiations. It begins with Victor, a small-time drug dealer looking to cash in on the protests but who quickly becomes immersed within in it. In the beginning, it is peaceful, but as with any good protests, things have a tendency to get out of hand, especially under the heavy handed authority of a police state. It is Sunil Yapa's brand of writing that truly engaged me. It is written with such immediacy of force. Quick and poignant, his writing pulls you into a world on the brink of chaos. And though this book takes place in 1999, it very well could have occurred last year, or this year, or even in years to come. The story of protests is an ongoing story pitting authority against citizen, one strong opinion against another. I found myself questioning this very nature as I read. Who is right? Who is wrong? In the end, are there any true winners? If you haven't already, I would definitely recommend this book for anyone.

5 OUT OF 5 STARS


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Classic
  • Twitter Classic
  • Google Classic

JACOB HARRELL

bottom of page